Tobacco Region Scholarship Program
The Virginia Tobacco Indemnification and Community Revitalization Commission (Tobacco Commission) established a Bachelor's Degree scholarship program in 2002 to strengthen the economies of Southwest (SW) and Southside (SS) Virginia through education and training of its citizens. The Tobacco Region Scholarship Program provides assistance with tuition for eligible students who live in one of the SW (Brown) localities or SS (Blue) localities and who are enrolled in a Bachelor's Degree program at an accredited 4-year college or university, whether public or private, in-state or out-of-state.  Residents of the counties shaded in yellow are not eligible to apply for assistance through the Tobacco Region Scholarship Program.
  • Applications for 2015-16 are no longer being accepted.   Colleges/Universities will be submitting invoices for Fall 2015 semester awards after the last add/drop dates published by each school.   Payments will be made during September and October.

    To be notified of the dates when applications for Fall 2016/Spring 2017 will be accepted, please click NOTIFY ME above and register your email address.